Confessions of an Unemployed College Graduate

Today’s post is up at The Federalist.

A sample:

My experience is not unique. There are thousands of college graduates in my shoes today. In fact, I’m better off than most: thanks to my wonderful parents, I don’t have any student debt weighing me down. I was also fortunate that the school I went to included a Great Books program, which is where I first truly learned to think.

 

Having learned that particular skill, I’ve concluded it probably wasn’t a good idea for me to go to college. Oh, I’m grateful for many things—the aforementioned Great Books program, the friends I made, and so forth. But looking back, I can’t avoid the conclusion that if I had learned to think a little sooner I would have realized that I shouldn’t have gone to college at all when I did.

I would have been better off going into the military or getting a job right off the bat. That way I would have had the kind of skills necessary to find the kind of jobs I want. College, for me, was unnecessary. Many people have to go into debt to attend a school where, instead of teaching you to think logically, they teach you how much the world owes you. It’s a liability.

Read the whole thing here!

 

4 thoughts on “Confessions of an Unemployed College Graduate

  1. Hey, I work for a company that could use someone with your talents/interest. You can work from home. I’m just a peon, and I don’t even know how to tell you to apply, but check out coding institute.com. They have openings for editors with coding knowledge.

    Like

  2. Hell, I’ll hire you. Or not, it’s up to you. I’m not a bot like the comment above. Weirddave at the gee, mail! thingy or weirddave0 on Twitter. Drop me a line, we’ll chat.

    Back in my day it wasn’t nearly as bad, but 20 years ago I found a rewarding career. Me with degrees in history and political science, what the hell does that qualify me for? Like you, I was lucky enough that my folks paid for it, but really, what was I thinking?

    Anyhoo, I liked your article. If nothing else comes of it, know that.

    Have a great day!

    Like

  3. Hi David, I very much enjoyed your piece in The Federalist and couldn’t agree with you more.

    May I say that what you wrote was just as applicable back in the 1980’s as it is now, only with a couple of key differences, those being (1) back then the “you must go to college” fetish wasn’t near as strong as it is now, and (2) if you made the “mistake” of going to college then (when you would have been wiser not to), it didn’t cost you anywhere near as much as it does now.

    I learned your lesson by earning a Mathematics degree. Now understand, I was in Navy ROTC, so I knew I would have a job coming out of college. So the Mathematics degree was almost a lark for me because I enjoyed the field of study and (bonus) I knew I would have a job anyway.

    The problem was when I got OUT of the Navy. That 7 year old Mathematics degree? Worthless. I had to go back to school and earn an Applied Computer Science degree (which the company that hired me actually paid for) to get an established foot in the industry I’ve been working in since.

    So though your piece is speaking of the present, be assured it also has echoes in the past. And it was a wonderful piece to read. Thank you.

    By the way, in thanks for your interesting piece, I purchased ‘The Monitor Deep Space Company’ on Amazon. I’ve been reading and enjoying science fiction since before you were born, so I’m looking forward to reading it.

    Best of luck to you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

