Kaiju Appreciations; Hedorah (commentary)

So, my next Kaiju Appreciation turned out to be Hedorah, the Smog Monster. It’s a little surprising, since Hedorah is one of those characters that I tend to forget about, despite his comparative popularity. Probably because he’s only really in one movie, and it’s one of the worst of the series (his only other appearance is an extremely brief cameo in Godzilla: Final Wars, which is so short and pointless that you wonder why they bothered). Anyway, here’s the video.

Godzilla vs. Hedorah is a heavy-handed and fairly idiotic environmental film, so I picked a song from another heavy-handed and idiotic environmental film: Ferngully. Fortunately, the song Toxic Love is absolutely perfect for Hedorah (it helps that the character who sings it in Ferngully is also a living pile of pollution. Got to make things simple for the kids, you know). It’s basically just a song from the point of view of pollution itself, which is what Hedorah is. Add in that it’s sung by the marvelous Tim Curry and it’s a pretty fun little number that might have been written for Hedorah.

As for the video, I’m pretty satisfied with it. The film quality is still terrible (that won’t change for a while), and since so much of the movie takes place at night it’s sometimes hard to see anything. I had to fill up a good deal of the running time with shots of random pollution, but the film does that too, so I’m not bothered. I do remember holding off on making this one until I could get the thirty-seconds worth of footage from Final Wars, which is a good indication of how anal I can be. Worked out well in the end, though, since I think that footage fits in nicely and helps liven things up a bit.

All in all, I’m pretty pleased. It’s not one of my favorites, and Hedorah isn’t an especially interesting character (again, heavy-handed environmental metaphor: nothing more), but I think the video turned out pretty good. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

