My Response to the SSM Decision

As you all probably know, the Supreme Court took it upon itself to declare that two people of the same sex can legally marry, thereby arbitrarily validating the lifestyle choices of about two percent of the population, which, as we all know, is the very essence of America (and of course, the institution of marriage is absolutely the property of the United States government to do with as it likes).

Okay, actually considering that of that two percent, barely a tenth actually have any interest in ‘marrying,’ the Supreme Court basically just created a completely symbolic and pointless piece of legislation that pretty much only exists to infringe on the rights of people who still insist on pointing out the difference between male and female, and who realize that one’s subjective sexual desires or habits do not confer an objective identity that the law ought to recognize and uphold, but I digress.

The question is, what are we few who retain our logic and common sense to do about this situation?

First, we have to recognize the fact that our culture needs a complete rebuild. Same-sex marriage is only the latest symptom of a process that  has been going on for nearly a century at least. It’s just latest in a long line of insane developments that have chipped away the glorious culture we’ve inherited from our ancestors. It hasn’t been a steady process, but the trend has been unmistakable. Western Civilization is essentially broken.

Rebuilding it will mean going right down into the foundations; to our most basic assumptions and ideas about the world and human nature. Personally, these last few months have been an astonishing revelation of just how much even the saner elements of our culture takes for granted that simply isn’t true. More on that later. The point is, in order to rebuild our culture, we need to uproot a lot of basic assumptions and habits of thought.

Obviously, even if we wanted to, we couldn’t get back to the way things used to be, and we shouldn’t try. Instead, we should work to build something new and glorious in its own right. It’ll take time and effort and we today probably won’t live to see it, but that’s just how history works. It pleased the Lord that we should be born into a time of decay and dissolution, and He does not create to no purpose.

Where do we begin? Just with our own lives, which brings me to my point and my response to the Supreme Court. My response is “you can say whatever you like, but you’re wrong. The truth is that marriage is and can only ever be a union between man and woman. And personally, I am going to live my life according to what is True, not according to what is fashionable. I am going to marry my wife and bring up my children according to what is True. I am going to write my books and do my work and pursue my own purpose in life all with regards to the Truth. To whatever extent it is in my power, I will proclaim the Truth. Probably I can’t do anything to change this decision or to open anyone’s eyes to reality. But, for my part, I will strive to always adhere to the Truth, and nothing you say or do is going to change that.”

And that is the first step to rebuilding a shattered culture: by making our own lives a reflection of Truth and Virtue and Goodness. By making sure our own families remain intact and healthy. By just making sure our little corner of the world is as sane and as faithful as we can possibly make it.

But if it seem evil to you to serve the Lord, you have your choice: choose this day that which pleaseth you, whom you would rather serve…but as for me and my house we will serve the Lord.” -Joshua 24: 15

And just to stick an extra finger in the eye of the Leftist morons who got us here:

imapsusa_2269_10880736

This thing’s really growing on me.

P.S. Seriously WordPress? You have to throw an obnoxious rainbow flag on my header just to rub it in how much you hate me?

Leave a Reply

