Turn Me Inside Out!

I confess I’ve been nervous about Pixar’s latest film Inside Out. Of course, it’s Pixar, but they haven’t been quite at their best lately (I liked Monster’s University, but I think it’s fair to say it was far from their best work. I didn’t bother seeing Cars 2).

Inside Out seemed to have a great premise: a movie about the inner workings of the mind. But the first two trailers didn’t grab me: the first one was too vague, the Super Bowl Spot was kind of fun, but depressingly resorted to the ‘ridiculous father, mature mother’ stereotype, which made me nervous about the filmmakers’ intent.

Now, however, we get a real, solid trailer that gives us an idea of the story, and I absolutely love what I see! This looks as funny, as sweet, and as clever as we’ve come to expect Pixar films to be.

I was especially grateful, given the Super Bowl spot, that though that scene shows up here, the trailer also shows the dad being fun and involved with little Riley (the girl whose emotions serve as the film’s protagonists). We also get a tantalizing view of the mind world, which looks like it’s going to be a blast to explore. And I was glad to get a better sense of the interplay among the five emotions (Joy, Sadness, Fear, Anger, Disgust), since I’ve been worried that the film might vilify the latter two, which would be a disservice to the human experience. As a matter of fact, I think Anger gets the best line in the trailer, which I’ll leave you to discover.

Basically, this trailer has pretty much set my fears to rest and Inside Out has rocketed to the top of this year’s ‘must see’ list. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

